Graduate Faculty Meeting Minutes

Hasselmann Alumni House 4:00pm Monday, May 6, 2024

Present: Samuel Frimpong, Emma Lowe, Sylvia Skouby, Magdy Abdelrahman, Cihan Dagli, David Enke, Jeffrey Winiarz, Cassie Elrod, Tricia Helton-George, Bella Gerlich, David Duvernell, Andrea Scharf, Taghi Sherizadeh, Gayla Olbricht, Manashi Nath, Melanie Mormile, Vahe Permzadian, Jaqueline Meinecke, Clair Kueny, Colin Potts, Maciej Zawodniok, Fernando Chavez, Jade Sinnott, Madison Armstrong, Fatih Dogan, Sharon Matson, Michael Eze, Steve Corns

In attendance on Zoom: Taghi Sherizadeh, Ed Malone, David Spivey, Klaus Woelk, Irina Ivliyeva, Arif Mahmood, Frank Liou, Mina AbdolhosseinzadehAmini, Steve Roberts

Interim Chair S. Corns called the meeting to order, 4:00 pm

- 1. Approval of Minutes from the December 4, 2023, meeting
 - a. Motion to approve as written by Maciej Zawodniok: second by Cihan Dagli: approved
- 2. Approval of Spring 2024 Commencement List (sent via email) with one addition
 - a. Approved by a vote of the members in attendance: 100% in favor

A moment of silence was observed in remembrance of our former Secretary, V. Prakash Reddy

- 3. Graduate Faculty Membership Vote for SP2024
 - a. Ten full and three associate memberships recommended for approval by the Membership Committee

Morales, Ricardo Libre, Nicolas Al-Bazzaz, Waleed

Zhang, Xiong
Nadendla, Venkata
Kim, DongHyun
Elgawady, Mohamed
El-adaway, Islam
Davis, Carleigh
Das, Sajal
Convertine, Anthony
Canfield, Casey
Belfi, Amy

- b. All memberships were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 4. Elections for Standing Committees
 - a. Budgetary Affairs (One position available / Two-year term) Cheng Hsiao Wu
 - b. Campus Curricula (One position available / Two-year term) Kyle Perry
 - c. Personnel Committee (One position available / Two-year term) Katheryn Northcut
 - d. All nominations were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 5. Elections for Graduate Faculty President and Secretary for 2024 2025
 - a. President Steven Corns

- b. Secretary Jeffrey Winiarz (Chemistry)
- c. All nominations were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 6. Motions approved by Graduate Council on March 6, 2024
 - a. Change the Grad Track Pathway Program admission process
 - i. Student applies (provisionally) to the master's degree through Slate for the term following anticipated bachelor's degree completion, department and Graduate Admissions would be responsible for checking minimum admission requirements. Then, before completing the bachelor's degree, the student would be required to designate courses intended for shared credit, undergraduate and graduate advisor(s), department chair/designee, and Graduate Education would be responsible for checking shared credit courses meet program requirements
 - b. Remove all or nothing requirement of shared credit in the Grad Track Pathway master's track
 - i. Allow students to include any combination of the designated courses they receive an A or B in.
 - c. The motions were approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 7. Motion approved by Graduate Council on April 3, 2024
 - a. Add a PhD option for the Grad Track Pathway
 - b. The motion was approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 8. Motion Approved by Graduate Council on April 3, 2024, to Recommend a 4% Increase to Stipend X for FY2025
 - a. The motion was approved by a vote of the members in attendance
- 9. New business
 - a. There was no new business

The meeting ended at 4:18 p.m.